2019 BROOKLYN JAZZ HALL of FAME Nomination Process Open To Public


Send your candidate’s name to, comm@cbjcjazz.org

The Brooklyn Jazz Hall of Fame, created in 1999, is a trademark and presentation of the Central Brooklyn Jazz Consortium/CBJC.  The hall of fame immortalizes, and is a tribute to the musicians who put “Brooklyn Jazz” into the consciousness of admirers of this art form.

CBJC invites the public to participate in the 2019 nomination process.  It is not a fan-based or a popularity contest and celebrity is not solely a factor.  Eligible musicians, either born in or were/are longstanding residents of this borough; whom made a significant contribution to the “BROOKLYN JAZZ” brand, to be considered.

List of Members of the Brooklyn Jazz Hall of Fame:

Lena Horne (2008), Max Roach (2002), Cecil Payne, Eubie Blake (2004), Randy Weston (2003), James Hawthorne “Chief Bey” (2004), Art Blakey, Betty Carter, Joe Carroll, Kenny Dorham (2005), Gigi Gryce (2003), Ernie Henry, Wynton Kelly, Ahmed Abdul Malik, Cal Massey, Carmen McRae, John Ore, Noel Pointer, Betty Roche, Clifton Small, Hazel Scott, C. Scobey Stroman, Cedar Walton, Mary Lou Williams, Reggie Workman (2005), Stanley Banks (2015), Kenny Barron (2013), Bob Cunningham (2012), Leonard Gaskin (2009), Freddie Hubbard (2009), Montego Joe (2011), Kenny Kirkland (2015), Bill Lee (2014), Herbie Mann (2014), Ronnie Mathews (2016), Larry Ridley (2017), James Spaulding (2016), Roland Alexander (2007), Alex Blake (2011), Wesley “Wally” Gator (2011), Gerald Hayes (2007), H. Mattathias Pearson (2017), Ulysses Slaughter, Irving “Duke” Jordan (2018)

The hall of fame ceremony is scheduled for June 19, 2019, at the Billie Holiday Theatre, located in the Bedford Stuyvesant section of Brooklyn.  Sponsors welcomed to participate.

Send your candidate’s name to comm@cbjcjazz.org



Your Cart